Legacy Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Legacy Forum

A forum dedicated to the BYOND game Legacy

HomeFFL HUBPortalGalleryLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

About FFL and the engine and stuff

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Ranylyn
Summer Rain
Ranylyn

About FFL and the engine and stuff Empty
PostSubject: About FFL and the engine and stuff   About FFL and the engine and stuff I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 02, 2011 4:16 pm

Is the engine itself technically copyright of SE if it's a fan-made reproduction? I remember there was a debate about this on a SMW game engine called SMBX awhile ago, and it turns out the engine itself was kosher, it's justn that it used copyrighted sprites, musics, and whatnot.

Theoretically, we could dodge the DMCA by just using original content with the existing game engine, right?

I've got a long-spanning fantasy series I've been working on for 9 years that's just gathering dust that I'll never finish, and I'd be more than happy to let it be used for a new FFL-style game. I suck at iconing but I can handle everything else (rough overworld design, NPC text, etc) if others can do the icons.

Just offering that up.

EDIT: And yeah, I'm aware the game will come back up, butn we'll be in deep crap if Square finds out we went "lol" at their warning once they looked away.
Back to top Go down
Nielz
Admin
Nielz

PostSubject: Re: About FFL and the engine and stuff   About FFL and the engine and stuff I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 02, 2011 5:11 pm

Just so you know, IF it comes back up, it won't be FFL anymore. It won't be Final Fantasy at all, so we won't be going "lol" at SE's warning.
Back to top Go down
https://legacygame.forumotion.net
Ranylyn
Summer Rain
Ranylyn

PostSubject: Re: About FFL and the engine and stuff   About FFL and the engine and stuff I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 02, 2011 5:59 pm

*thumbs up*

Just let us know if there's anything we can do.
Back to top Go down
Nielz
Admin